Building a Shared Future through COINs

COINs Conference 2018 | Jiaxing, China | Sept 26 - Sept 28, 2018

About COINs Conference

Collaborative innovation networks, or COINs, are cyberteams of self-motivated people with a collective vision, to innovatively collaborate by sharing ideas, information, and work enabled by technology. COINs are powered by swarm creativity, wherein people work together in a structure that enables a fluid creation and exchange of ideas. Patterns of collaborative innovation frequently follow an identical path, from creator to COIN to collaborative learning network (CLN) to collaborative interest network (CIN).

The 8th edition of the Collaborative Innovation Networks (COINs) conference will be held at Jiaxing, China. COINs will bring together researchers and practitioners from across the world to share the results of their work. The goal of the conference is to provide a forum for researchers and practitioners from both academia and industry to meet and share cutting-edge advancements in the field of Social Network Analysis, Online Social Networks, Data Mining, AI & Deep Learning and the impact of those technologies on society and culture.

For more details about individual conferences, see the COINs History Page

Venue & Travel

City: Jiaxing

Jiaxing (嘉興) is a historic city located in Zhejiang province. The historic city centre is less than an hour by train from its much larger neighbor to the north-east, Shanghai, which makes Jiaxing a popular day trip destination from Shanghai. It is also easily reached from Hangzhou, Suzhou or Nanjing. Jiaxing city also includes Wuzhen (烏鎮) and Xitang (西塘), two well known preserved canal towns.

Venue: Ramada Jiaxing Hotel

COINs 2018 will be held at the Ramada Jiaxing hotel. The hotel offers easy access to the Jiaxing Railway Station and to the city’s best attractions, including Jiaxing Grand Theatre, Jiaxing International Convention & Exhibition Center, and Jiaxing Stadium. The hotel is also within driving range of Wuzhen Ancient Town, as well as Xitang Ancient Town. It has over 260 spacious guest rooms, each with free WiFi, flat-screen TV, and more. Within the hotel, enjoy delicious meals at onsite restaurants, indoor pool, health club with fitness center and spa. It features 14 meeting rooms, which can be arranged to accommodate 340 conference guests or 600 banquet guests.

The closest airports are:

  • Hangzhou Xiaoshan International Airport, 63 km
  • Shanghai Hongqiao International Airport, 76 km
  • Sunan Shuofang International Airport, 92 km
  • Visa Requirements

    Foreign nationals entering China are generally required to have a valid passport and a Chinese visa assigned by overseas branch of Chinese embassy or consular offices. However, many are now permitted visa-free for a limited period under certain conditions. In order to check whether you’re allowed to enter China without visa issuance and for other requirements, please contact the Chinese immigration offices or visit the following websites to confirm:

  • Official web portal of the Central People's Government of the People's Republic of China
  • Embassy of the PR China in the USA
  • If you need an invitation letter to obtain a visa to attend COINs Conference, please contact Qiong Wu or Yingdong Xu.

    Conference Committee

    Local Organizing Chair

    Yang Song
    Jilin University, China

    Program Co-Chairs

    Francesca Grippa
    Northeastern University, USA

    Qi Wen
    Tsinghua University, China

    Steering Committee Members

    Andrea F. Colladon, Tor Vergata University of Rome, Italy
    Cristobal Garcia, Imperial College and TU Delft
    Peter Gloor, MIT, USA
    Julia Gluesing, Wayne State University, USA
    Francesca Grippa, Northeastern University, USA
    Takashi Iba, Keio University, Japan
    Casper Lassenius, Aalto University, Finland
    Joao Leitao, University of Beira Interior, Portugal
    Christine Miller, Illinois Institute of Technology, USA
    Maria Paasivaara, Aalto University, Finland
    Ken Riopelle, Wayne State University, USA
    Yang Song, Jilin University, China
    Matthäus P. Zylka, University of Bamberg, Germany

    Program Committee Members

    Jana Diesner, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA
    Kai Fischbach, University of Bamberg, Germany
    Dariusz Jemielniak, Kozminski University, Poland
    Zheng Li, Jilin University, China
    Gang Lu, Beijing University of Chemical Technology, China
    I. Lykourentzou, Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology
    Yoshiaki Matsuzawa, Shizuoka University, Japan
    Takis Metaxas, Wellesley & Harvard, USA
    Keiichi Nemoto, Fuji Xerox, Japan
    Aleksandra Przegalińska-Skierkowska, Kozminski University, Poland
    Detlef Schoder, University of Cologne, Germany
    Yang Song, Jilin University, China
    Xijin Tang, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China
    Tsvi Vinig, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
    Xin Wang, Beijing Institute of Technology, China
    Haoxian Xia, Dalian University of Technology, China
    Qiaoyun Yun, South China Normal University, Foshan City, China
    Xue Zhang, National University of Defense Technology, China
    Yuhong Zhou, South China University of Technology, China